Ravenswood Historic SiteLivermore, California
Ravenswood Historical Site, a restored Victorian country estate, is
operated by the Livermore Area Recreation Park & Park District (LARPD). It is
on the National Register of Historic Places, is a State of California Point of
Interest, and a City of Livermore Preservation Landmark Site. Ravenswood was
built as a summer home for Christopher Buckley, Sr., the "Blind Boss," of
early San Francisco politics. The 1885 cottage and the 1891 main house, a
unique two-building arrangement, are Queen Anne/Eastlake architectural style:
a tank house and unrestored carriage house are California Vernacular.
The Buckley family used their country vineyard as a summer home until 1920.
In 1931, it was acquired by the Catholic order, the Congregation of the Most
Holy Redeemer, known as the Redemptorists. Renamed "Villa San Clement" in
honor of the order's founders, Saint Clement Hofbauer, the estate served as
religious retreat for the next 34 years.
In 1968 the 100 acre property, including the deteriorating buildings, was
purchased by a local developer, who gave the core 33 acres to Livermore. The
Main House and the Tank House were architecturally restored by LARPD in 1979
and the Cottage in 1986.
In June, 1996, LARPD inaugurated Docent-led tours on the second Sunday of each
month, allowing public access to the entire estate. The Ravenswood Volunteer
Docents in 1890's costumes, give free guided tours beginning at 11.00 a.m.
For information about reserved group tours or Docent appearances, contact
LARPD at (510)373-5708.
The Main House
The Tank House
Living Room Fireplace-Main House
Living Room Fireplace-Cottage
Click here to tour next Historic Building: 22.RUCKER HOUSE-SAN JOSE
to return to Home Page